Levels of authorisation

Brief summary of the different levels of authorisation available

Given the vast range of work which needs to be controlled by the faculty system, various levels of authorisation are applicable to any given proposal as follows:

  • Faculty via the Online Faculty System: the normal route for work not specified by List A or List B. These applications are considered by the DAC and determined by the Chancellor
  • Works listed under the A and B Lists  (these replaced the Minor Works list from 1 January 2016 onward):
    • List A works require no authorisation, but you should check with the DAC office that the work is covered by List A before undertaking it
    • List B works require the authorisation of the Archdeacon via the Onine Faculty System and are subject to review by the DAC office, a DAC architect or other DAC advisor
  • Interim Faculty: for emergency work such as dangerous masonry or failed heating. This is issued by the Chancellor, but must be followed by a Confirmatory Faculty via the Online Faculty System within six weeks of issue of the Interim
  • Archdeacon's Temporary Licence: for genuine and fully reversible reordering experimentation by parishes - e.g. limited pew removals where the parish need to test how they would use the new, open space before finally deciding on the size of space they need or committing to making such a change permanent

Page last updated: 16th Apr 2019 1:14 PM