Nominations open for synodical committees


The process by which individuals can be nominated to synodical committees has opened. This follows the successful election of Diocesan Synod on 01 August.

Nominations are open for the following positions:

  • Chair of House of Clergy                             Synod member
  • Chair of House of Laity                                Synod member
  • Bishop’s Council                                           Synod member
  • Parish Share Appeals Committee             Synod member
  • Committee for Outreach                            Need not be a synod member
  • Committee for Ministry                               Need not be a synod member
  • Vacancy-in-See Committee                        Need not be a synod member

The committees will sit for a period of three years.

Diocesan Secretary, George Colville, says: “We welcome nominations from all corners of the diocese, whether you are familiar with diocesan governance or not. Our committees play an important role and it’s our hope that they reflect the breadth and depth of opinion and viewpoints.”

The election of synodical committee members is an important aspect of diocesan governance. The committees offer specialised support and guidance to the Bishop’s Staff team and diocesan officers based at Church House, Daresbury.

Completed nomination forms must be sent to George Colville no later than 12 noon on Friday 24 September 2021. Forms received after that time cannot be considered. Members of Diocesan Synod have been sent copies of the nomination forms and will need to propose and second those standing for synodical committees.

The first gathering of the new Diocesan Synod takes place on the morning of Saturday 6 November.

Further details can be found in this Letter to Synod Members on the 1 September 2021.

Page last updated: 7th September 2021 9:37 AM