General Synod elections 2021


Voting is now open for the Church of England’s General Synod Elections.

Diocesan electors in the Diocese of Chester will begin receiving invitations by email and post from Friday 17 September to vote for the candidates they wish to elect as representatives of the Diocese of Chester on the Church of England’s General Synod.

The voting period will run until Friday 8 October. The count will take place in the week commencing 11 October.

Diocesan electors are deanery synod members as of 12 July 2021.

The Diocese of Chester is required to elect four representatives to the House of Laity for each electoral area, which, in the case of the Diocese of Chester, correspond to each archdeaconry, and six Proctors in Convocation – members of the House of Clergy representing the Diocese of Chester on the General Synod.

In total, 31 candidates are standing for election. A vote will take place in each of the three diocesan constituencies:

  • Laity in Chester electoral area
  • Laity in Macclesfield electoral area
  • Proctors in Convocation

You can view the full list of candidates and their respective election addresses here.

Please pray for the Candidates and the diocesan electors.

What is the General Synod?

The General Synod is the national assembly of the Church of England. It is made up of three elected Houses: Laity, Clergy, and Bishops.

The General Synod considers and approves legislation affecting the whole of the Church of England, formulates new forms of worship, debates matters of national and international importance, and approves the annual budget for the work of the Church at a national level.

Once elected, members of the General Synod will sit for a period of five years.  

Page last updated: 17th September 2021 2:53 PM