Privacy and Cookies


The Diocese of Chester's Committee for Ministry works in the areas of ministry, mission and training.

 Developing a coherent approach to all aspects of the learning CfM provides in order to promote mature Christian discipleship and reflective missional leadership across the Diocese

Our vision is one of enabling the ministry of the whole people of God, whether in specific ministries (ordained and accredited lay ministries) or in the central call of all Christians to live out their faith in the world and the church. We also work to support and develop the ministry of parish churches.

We work in the areas of:

  • Vocation and Selection of Ordinands
  • Women in Ministry
  • Continuing Ministerial Development
  • Spirituality
  • Initial Ministerial Education 
  • Reader Ministry
  • Pastoral Worker Ministry
  • Resourcing Leadership and Discipleship
  • Self-supporting Ministry
  • Ministerial Development Review



The Committee includes a wide range of people working together in support of this vision. The Chair of the Committee is the Archdeacon of Chester, the Ven Dr Michael Gilbertson, and its main executive officer is the Diocesan Director of Ministry.

The Director of Ministry and Secretary to the Committee for Ministry is the Revd Canon Dr Christopher Burkett who can be contacted at Church House Tel 01928 718834 ext 256 (Mobile 07921 040153)

Jane Hood is PA to the Director of Ministry and Administrator for IME 4-7, CMD, Headway Leadership course and the Cycle of Prayer. Jane can be contacted at Church House (01928 718834 ext 257)

Continuing Ministerial Development Officer

Revd Canon David Herbert
07594 952551

Director of Studies for Ordinands

Revd Gary O'Neill
01928 723327

Director of Studies for Readers

Revd Liz Shercliff
07703 800030

Acting Warden of Readers

Ven Dr Michael Gilbertson
01928 718834 ext 257

Programme Liaison Officer

Revd Dr David Lamb
01829 751440

Diocesan Dean of Women in Ministry

Revd Alison Fulford
01270 780742

Warden of Pastoral Workers

Revd Vivien Gisby
01928 573798

Director of Studies for
Pastoral Workers

Revd Peter Mackriell
01829 752639

Director of Ordinands

Revd Magdalen Smith
01928 718834 ext 238

Assistant DDO

Revd Lorraine Reed


Peter Bacon
01928 718834 ext 237

Young Vocations Advisers

Revd Helena Roulston


Revd Calum Piper    

Prayer and Christian Spirituality Officer

Revd Graham Green
01928 722151

Bishop's Adviser for MDR

Revd Gary O’Neill
01928 723327

Bishop's Officer for NSMs

Revd Canon Prof Roger Yates
01625 520246


Click here to open - Prioritising Scripture  - a presentation made at the November 2014 Diocesan Synod 

Meeting Notes


Committee for Ministry Meeting 14 January 2016
Committee for Ministry Meeting 28 April 2016

Committee for Ministry Meeting 22 January 2015
Officers Meeting 28 January 2015
Committee for Ministry Meeting 23 April 2015
Officers Meeting Meeting 29 April 2015
Committee for Ministry Meeting 29 September 2015





Share Page...

Download 52 Thoughts, a Year of Favourite Bible Verses